Cardmaking

Part 2 of My Halloween Entry

I was on a Halloween roll when I made this card.  This is card #2 of entry #2 in the NBUS Challenge happening right now over on my friend’s blog.  It’s just about over, but she does it twice a year so head on over to Darnell’s blog by clicking here and discover what this NBUS challenge is all about!!

IMG_5074-copy

It’s more like I was on a skull roll…  For this one I used Apothecary by Stampers Anonymous again.  I got the inspiration for this card from the Ranger website.  I didn’t exactly CASE it, but I did use it as a guide since I really wanted something that looked similar to this.  Once again, I started out with a piece of manilla card stock and added some distress inks around the edges and inward.  I used Dusty Concord and Black Soot, after stamping the cursive writing stamp.   This was really fun, but also a challenge.  I cut out the eyes, nose and mouth with a blade.  I’m not the best with a blade, but I actually did pretty good on these. I used distress inks around all the openings to give it that aged look.  I used Antique Linen and Vintage Photo with a little Scattered Straw around the eyes and teeth.

IMG_5076

This picture is at a better angle to show you the dimension on this skull.  I cut out 2 skulls, distressed both of them and popped the top one up on foam adhesive.  It looks really cool in person.  I even had to make another one of these Saturday night for a woman who wanted it as a baby shower card!!!  I had this displayed at the craft fair I just did over the weekend and as soon as she saw it, she asked if there was a way I could make one without the Happy Halloween so that she could use it as a baby shower card!!  She must’ve noticed the strange look on my face because she quickly added that it was a Halloween themed baby shower.  Here’s how that one turned out.

And this is my 2nd card for my 2nd entry into the NBUS Challenge.

You can check out my video tutorial of this card over on my YouTube channel by clicking here.

Stay tuned for my last entry…

Leave a Reply

