Cardmaking · Challenges

Final NBUS Entry

button-aqua-use-this-the

And for my final entry into the NBUS Challenge that is STILL going on over at my crafty friend, Darnell’s blog….  Click here to be taken directly to her blog.  You won’t be sorry you did.  She’s highly entertaining and extremely talented.  Actually, I’m pretty sure the few followers I have on here all already know Darnell and all about the NBUS challenge, but for those that may be viewing this that do not know, you gotta check it out.  I’m not a challenge kinda gal (although I wish I were), but this is one challenge I can never pass up.

Anyway, it might be too late.  I’m not quite sure what the cutoff time is so I’m rushing to get this last one in because I know today is the final day of week 3.  Darnell does this challenge a couple times a year though so do check it out.

The NBUS item I used is Beautiful Ride by Simon Says Stamp.  I also used Number It by Mama Elephant and either the small or large Stitched Rectangle by Lawn Fawn.  I’ve mixed the two sets together so I have no idea which set this came from.  The Happy is from Mama Elephant.  As soon as I get this card entered, I’ll start working on a process video to add to my YouTube channel.  As soon as it’s uploaded, you will be able to click here to be redirected to that video. UPDATE:  No process video coming. All videos were stolen when my external hard drive, among many other items were stolen from my vehicle last weekend..  ☹️ (see “Robbed” post next)

This card was super easy to make. I actually CASE’d Wanda Guess’ card that she made here. I had a customer pick out this particular stamp set and these colors with 75th somewhere on it to celebrate her Mom’s 75th Birthday!!  I struggled a bit with the layout, which is why I tried Wanda’s layout and between this layout and a couple others, we both agreed that this was the best out of the bunch.

I colored the images with my copic markers and then partially ink blended some distress ink on the “Happy” die. I tried my best to match my copics to the Salty Ocean distress ink that I used and I think it matches pretty well!!  So the “Happy” is done with DI and the “75” was done with copics.

I die cut the “happy” four times and then used some Elmer’s Craft Bond spray adhesive to glue them all together to get some much needed dimension.

I didn’t have any purple cardstock to match the flowers so I just made my own strip using my copics. I cut the plaid background to A2 size and then used a bit smaller than A2 size of the stitched rectangles so that I could angle the rectangle.

img_5629-copy

I used some Wink of Stella AND Spectrum Noir  Sparkle on the “Happy” and also on the number 75. I couldn’t decide which one to use so I just used both…  Then I put some 3D adhesive squares on the back of the number 75 and a portion of the flowers, again, taking a page out of Wanda’s layout, to make the flowers look fuller.

img_5623-copy

Lastly, I added some Glossy Accents to the blue bike frame since bike frames are usually shiny. And that’s it!!  Easy peasy, right??

img_5625-copy

I’m so happy that this order and this challenge just so happened to be at the same time.  It couldn’t have been better timing!!

Thanks for stopping by!!

Misty

Copics Used:

Bike:  B01, B05, B06 (tires and seat) C2, C4, D5

Basket:  E11, E13, E17

Cat:  YR12, YR15, YR21, YR27

Flowers:  V12, V15, V17, Y18

75th done using the same blues as the bike


19 thoughts on “Final NBUS Entry

  1. This is exquisite, Misty! Every part of your design is well-thought-out and your execution is flawless! I love every.single.element!! Thank you very much for playing in my NBUS Challenge #10 and for your very kind words! Hugs, Darnell

    Like

  2. Oh, this is such a sweet card for a 75th birthday, Misty!!!! Love that shiny bicycle and the cute little flowers and adorable kitten!!!!! The blue plaid paper is beautiful and the tilted panel is a great idea!!! Love it, my friend and surely so did your friend and her Mom!!!!!
    Have a great day!!!!
    Hugz

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t get in for the last NBUS challenge because I was lazy. lol I had some cards that would have worked but didn’t write up a post, so good for you for getting in there before the doors closed Misty! I love, love, love your card!!! You did a great job in matching the copic colors to the DI colors too! I’m in awe of this beautiful card! Hugs, Brenda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwww, thank you Brenda. Your words are so kind. I ALMOST didn’t get that last one in either. I was sweating it…. I don’t do any other challenges except the occasional SSS so I don’t really have a way of getting my cards out there. I’m hoping to do more challenges in the future. My YouTube videos have helped actually, but I can’t believe how many new card makers I’ve met just through this challenge!!! I love it!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

