Cardmaking · Challenges · Handmade Greeting Cards

Paper Piecing Challenge

Hello crafty friends!!  How many of you love to paper piece when making cards?  I know some people prefer it.  And then some, like me, forget all about it until I actually do it again and then I say to myself, “Why don’t I do this more often?”  I tend to say that a lot lately.  All these new challenges each week have me trying different techniques and new ideas.  I have to say, I love it!!  If you’re ever lacking imagination or creativity, I suggest joining a challenge or two.  That’s kind of crazy coming from me, who had only participated in 2 challenges before joining this design team.  I like to do the Simon Says Stamp weekly challenge on flickr when I can and I LOVE my crafty friends’ NBUS challenge that she does a few times a year.  NBUS (Never Before Used Schtuff) is the PERFECT way to dip your toe into the wonderful world of challenges.  We all have stamp sets that have never seen the light of day, am I right?

Anyway….  I’m getting a little off track here.  Let’s talk about this week’s theme at Always Fun Challenges.  Have you guessed what that theme is yet???  Well, if you guessed paper piecing, then you are absolutely correct!!  I decided to go with this flower image from Purple Onion Designs.  I absolutely LOVE this flower image.  From this angle, you can see the added dimension and how pretty that Victorian Velvet distress ink turned out.

IMG_1024-copy.jpg

I think floral images are fun to paper piece.  As are clothes.  I did a card awhile back using Stamping Bella’s Uptown Girls and I had a lot of fun paper piecing their dresses.  You can check out that process video by clicking here.

Well ladies, I do hope you’ll check out the Always Fun Challenge blog this week and enjoy all the amazing talent from the rest of our design team and all the entries as well.  Please join us if you can!!  As always, these weekly challenges are open for everyone to play along.

If you’re interested in watching my process for this card, you can click on my YouTube video below.  I’ve also added links to all the products I’ve used.  Thank you so much for stopping by.  I absolutely love hearing from you guys each week.  Until next week….

Misty


2 thoughts on “Paper Piecing Challenge

  1. This whimsical image is just perfect for paper-piecing, Misty! It’s adorable! And I do that thing, too, of asking myself why I don’t do such-and-such more often and paper-piecing is one of them! So fun! Thank you for the shoutout, too!! Hugs, Darnell

    Like

  2. I really detest fussy cutting so I rarely paper piece. Your card is so darling, it makes me reconsider my stance on paper piecing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

