Cardmaking · Challenges

Simon Says… Anything Goes

wed-newchallenge-header

Hello crafty friends!! Please join me for a new challenge at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

This week the challenge is

Anything Goes 

We are showcasing Hero Arts Products this week.  If you have any of these products, we’d love to see them used, but it’s certainly not a requirement to join the challenge.
As always, the generous folks at Simon Says Stamp will be giving away a $50 voucher to one randomly selected winner to shop at the fabulous Simon Says Stamp Store.
IMG_4140-copy-Square
Since it was the first day of Autumn last Saturday and I hadn’t made anything Autumn/Fall related yet this year, I decided to use the Abstract Waves stencil and some distress inks to do just that.  I taped an A2 size sheet of Bristol Smooth card stock to my craft mat and started ink blending several Autumn colors.  Starting with Aged Mahogany, I randomly blended a section of the stencil and then moved down through Fired Brick, Spiced Marmalade, Mustard Seed, Peeled Paint and a touch of Gathered Twigs.  I cut that down to 3.75″ by 5.5″ and adhered it to an A2 size Burnt Orange card stock by Simon Says Stamp.
IMG_4125-copy
Moving on to the sentiment, I took another sheet of Bristol smooth card stock and blended Spiced Marmalade, Fired Brick and Mustard Seed then cut out the shadow portion of the Big Thanks die (by SSS).  Using some Woodgrain card stock, I cut out the top layer of the Big Thanks die.  I wanted it to stand out a bit more to add some dimension so I cut the shadow portion of the die with some craft foam and glued it to the back of my sentiment.
IMG_4128-copy
I just recently received a Tonic Aqua Shimmer pen, and was itching to try it out so I practiced on a scratch piece of the woodgrain card stock to make sure the gold wasn’t going to stain the white or make it look off white and while I hadn’t concluded that it wouldn’t change the color of the white card stock, I wanted to add some gold to my Autumn themed design and I really wanted to try the pen out so I went ahead and added the shimmer pen over the top of the white card stock anyway.
IMG_4136-copy
What I would have done differently is I would have used the shimmer pen before attaching the top layer to the shadow layer.  Since distress inks react to water (or liquid), the colors did bleed a bit (which made the white layer look off white) and then where the shimmer pen came out a tad thick (which sometimes these glitter pens do), that too made the white look not so white.  To fix it, I just used a white gel pen to go over those parts.  Once it dried, I went back over it with the shimmer pen, but lightly to avoid too much of the glitter coming out and making it look off white again.
To finish this card off, I added a few matte gold sequins by Lucy’s Cards and a lovely matte gold leave that I had in my stash from a previous SSS card kit.  It looks like the gold sequins I have are no longer available.  They were called Champagne from Little Things by Lucy’s Cards but I found a mix that has the same matte gold and it’s called Gilded Peach.  I added that to a Neenah Solar White 110 lb. card base and called it a card!!
Thanks so much for stopping by.  Don’t forget to click on the challenge link above or head to the Simon Says Stamp blog to link up your entries.
You have until Wed  8am Ohio time. 1pm UK time, 2 pm CET to join in
So now it’s YOUR turn, Happy Crafting!!
Do you use Instagram ?  If so please add  #ssswchallenge to your challenge entry uploads so we can see them on there too.

Hero Arts Stencil ABSTRACT WAVES SA096
[ SSS ]
Strathmore BRISTOL SMOOTH 9 x 12…
[ SSS ]
Tombow REMOVABLE ADHESIVE Tape Runner…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad AGED…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad FIRED…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad SPICED…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad MUSTARD…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad PEELED…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad GATHERED…
[ SSS ]
Ranger MINI ROUND INK BLENDING TOOLS…
[ SSS ]
FrogTape DELICATE SURFACE Masking Tape
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp BIG THANKS Wafer…
[ SSS ]
Tonic MIDAS TOUCH Aqua Shimmer Pen…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100#…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp WOODGRAIN CARDSTOCK…
[ SSS ]
3M Scotch PINK ATG ADVANCED TAPE…
[ SSS ]
Tonic DELUXE ADHESIVE Nuvo Glue 200N
[ SSS ]
Uni-Ball Pen Signo Gel WHITE UM-153
[ SSS ]
9 x 12 WHITE FUN FOAM 12 Pack 118711
[ SSS ]
Tonic MORNING DEW Nuvo Crystal Drops…
[ SSS ]
Little Things From Lucy’s Cards…
[ SSS ]
Neenah Classic Crest 110 LB SMOOTH…
[ SSS ]
Neenah Classic Crest 80 LB REAM…
[ SSS ]
Sizzix BIG SHOT MACHINE Gray And…
[ SSS ]
Sizzix MAGNETIC PLATFORM Big Shot…
[ SSS ]
Sizzix Big Shot Kick STANDARD CUTTING…
[ SSS ]
Sizzix BIG SHOT WHITE TOOL CADDY 661081
[ SSS ]

5 thoughts on “Simon Says… Anything Goes

  1. Such amazing ink blending! I am in awe. Also, what catches my eye the most is the gold autumn leaf. Such a beautiful addition to the card. Have a great day! xx Ankita

    Like

  2. Gorgeous card Misty 🙂 I love how you used this stencil to create an autumn card!! I had the same thought as Cat, it does look like peacock feathers too 🙂 The colours and whole design of this is awesome!! 🙂

    hope you have a fabulous weekend
    luv
    Lols x x x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.