Cardmaking · Challenges · Simon Says Stamp

Trick or Treat

wed-newchallenge-header

Hello crafty friends!! Please join me for a new challenge at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

This week the challenge is

Animal Antics 

We are showcasing Hello Bluebird products this week.  If you have any of these products, we’d love to see them used, but it’s certainly not a requirement to join the challenge.
As always, the generous folks at Simon Says Stamp will be giving away a $50 voucher to one randomly selected winner to shop at the fabulous Simon Says Stamp Store.
Hello friends!  I’m a day late posting this, but I thought it was just too cute to not post at all.  I wasn’t feeling well for a couple of days and I simply could not make it happen.  I think I made myself even sicker because I was so worried about getting this posted in time.  Anyway, here it is.  It’s done, I’m feeling better and I’m moving forward.  Better late than never!!  Right?
IMG_4644-copy
I used Halloween Party stamp set and the matching die by Hello Bluebird.  I am IN LOVE with this company!  I love every single item they sell.  I loved this stamp set so much that I couldn’t make a normal A2 sized card.  I had to make an extra long one so that I could fit all of the characters on it.  Aren’t they adorable??
IMG_4661-copy
I started out with a 4.25″ x 11″ sheet of Bristol Smooth card stock and I ink blended Tumbled Glass, Peacock Feathers, Chipped Sapphire and Black Soot distress inks.  I added some water drops and flicked on Picket Fence distress ink with a toothbrush to look like stars.  I added a few more with a white gel pen.
IMG_4645-copy
I cut out a couple birch trees using a die that I have in my stash, but Hello Bluebird has a great Birch Tree die.  I used (SSS) black card stock for the trees and also the grass.  Using Copic X-Press It Blending card, I colored each image.
IMG_4673-copy
In order to get all of the images to fit, I cut a stitched hillside using the Simple Stitched Hill die set by Lawn Fawn in Slate card stock and placed the tombstones in the background.  I took some black soot distress ink and inked around the edges.
IMG_4672-copy
I used a strip of foam tape behind the grass to add some dimension.  That way I could place some of the characters in front of the grass and some behind.  Using large and small foam squares and Nuvo liquid adhesive, I carefully and strategically placed each adorable character.
IMG_4659-copy
I took a “Happy” stamp from Lawn Fawn’s Happy, Happy, Happy set and heat embossed it with white embossing powder.  Then I cut out the word ‘Halloween’ using the Journaling Alpha die by Neat & Tangled in black card stock.
IMG_4676-copy
To finish my card, I used a Nuvo Aqua Shimmer pen to go over the word Halloween and a few other areas here and there.  Then I took Nuvo Drops in Apple Green and carefully placed a small drop in each of the bubbles coming up out of the pot on the right side of the card.  I used a black card base as well and since the front of the card is a little heavy, I used a piece of Fog card stock inside to beef up the back of the card a bit.  I distressed the edges with black soot and then used a distresser to fray the edges.
IMG_4668-copy
So now it’s YOUR turn, Happy Crafting!!
Do you use Instagram ?  If so please add  #ssswchallenge to your challenge entry uploads so we can see them on there too.
You have until Wed  8am Ohio time. 1pm UK time, 2 pm CET to join in

Hello Bluebird HALLOWEEN PARTY Clear…
[ SSS ]
Hello Bluebird HALLOWEEN PARTY Die…
[ SSS ]
Strathmore BRISTOL SMOOTH 9 x 12…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad TUMBLED…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad PEACOCK…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Mini Ink Pad…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Mini Ink Pad BLACK…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Paint PICKET FENCE…
[ SSS ]
Uni-Ball Pen Signo Gel WHITE UM-153
[ SSS ]
Hello Bluebird BIRCH TREES Die Set…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100#…
[ SSS ]
Copic BLENDING CARD X-Press It Paper…
[ SSS ]
Lawn Fawn SIMPLE STITCHED HILLSIDE…
[ SSS ]
Tonic AQUA SHIMMER PEN Nuvo 2 Pack 888N
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100#…
[ SSS ]
Lawn Fawn GRASSY BORDER Lawn Cuts…
[ SSS ]
3M Scotch DOUBLE-SIDED FOAM TAPE…
[ SSS ]
Best Creation SMALL SQUARES 3-D Foam…
[ SSS ]
Best Creation BIG SQUARES 3-D Foam…
[ SSS ]
Tonic DELUXE ADHESIVE Nuvo Glue 200N
[ SSS ]
Lawn Fawn HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY Clear…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp EMBOSSING POWDER…
[ SSS ]
EK Success POWDER TOOL Applicator…
[ SSS ]
Precision Heat Embossing Tool Gun…
[ SSS ]
Neat and Tangled JOURNALING ALPHAS…
[ SSS ]
Tonic APPLE GREEN GLOSS Nuvo Crystal…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100# FOG…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Tonic PAPER DISTRESSER…
[ SSS ]

6 thoughts on “Trick or Treat

  1. Always such perfection! I can see you spent a lot of time on this card and it is so neat and perfect in so many ways. The die cut letters are all lined up so beautifully and the ink blending on the sky is stellar and coloring is impeccable! Too too cute. Have a lovely day, talented girl! xx Ankita

    Like

  2. Oh such a pretty Halloween card, Misty! Love your blue background so much and those little critters are too cute indeed! Awesome design♡
    So sorry that you were’t feeling good and I can understand how you feel about deadline. You’ve finally come out with amazing creation! Hope you will enjoy your crafting time. Hugs. Marge

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.