Cardmaking · Challenges

Sketch Challenge

Hi crafty friends!!  So this was different for me this week… but I liked it.  I don’t ever do sketch cards.  I don’t even know if that’s what you call them.   The theme this week at Always Fun Challenges is Sketch.  We’re using a sketch by Paper Play Sketches and I have to say, being new to sketches, I was pretty happy with this one!!  I’ve saved a bunch of sketches on Pinterest, but I’ve never used any of them.  I think that’s going to change.  This was fun!!

18274797_10154763480139086_5479299747485453515_n

I really didn’t think I was going to pull this off this week.  We left for vacation on Thursday and come Thursday morning, I still didn’t have a card made…  Although I had a million and one things to do before we could leave town, I decided to sit down and dedicate a half hour to making a card.  This sketch made it super easy to get a card done in the little amount of time I had.  There’s also a process video at the end of this post too.

Anyway, since I’ve never really used a sketch before, I first used a piece of copy paper and started guessing at what sizes I wanted for all the shapes.  So there’s 3 outer pieces (the black cardstock) and 3 inner pieces (the patterned paper).  The top outer piece, I cut to 1.75″ x 3.5″.  Top Inner is 1.5″ x 2.75″.  Middle outer piece is 1.75″ x 2.75″.  Middle Inner piece is 1.5″ x 2.25″.  The bottom outer is 1.75″ x 2.75″ and the last piece which is the bottom inner piece is cut to 1.5″ x 2.25″.  The inner pieces, the patterned paper aren’t as long as the outer black pieces simply because it was going to be hidden behind my sentiment anyway and I was just saving a little of that lovely patterned paper.

I’m writing this from an absolutely gorgeous house in Chico, CA. that my parent’s rented for us for 4 days.  We don’t do Christmas gifts anymore, there’s just too many of us and we’re all adults (except for the grandkids) so instead of my parent’s getting us all gifts,  they/we decided several years ago that we’d all go on a family vacation each year instead.  There’s 20 of us now so it’s nearly impossible to schedule these trips each year, but somehow we all manage to do it!!  And because there’s so many of us, the houses we have to get to sleep all of us are always spectacular!!  We’ve gone to Tahoe several years in a row and then Santa Cruz for a few.  The destination all depends on which big houses are available for the 4 days we want.  This year is just happened to be Chico.  But it really doesn’t matter where we are.  We have a blast!!  They’ve even rented a beach front house in our hometown and it still felt like we were on vacation!!  Hey, any time I don’t have to worry about household chores, it’s a vacation to me!!

It’s time to get back to my family so I’ll leave a few more pix.  I hope everyone is having a great summer!!!

Misty

IMG_0690-copyIMG_0680-copy

4 thoughts on “Sketch Challenge

    1. Thanks!! You’re right!! The next time I’m lacking in the creative department, I’m going to turn to some sketches and see if I can’t get some inspiration. I can’t believe I’ve never used them before!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.