Cardmaking · Challenges · Design Team · Simon Says Stamp

Simon Says Use a Die or a Punch

wed-newchallenge-header

Hi guys!!  Yes, it’s time for a new challenge at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.  Thank you for joining us last week for the Fun in the Sun Challenge and we hope you will join us again this week too.

This week the challenge is

Use a Die or Punch

We are showcasing Birchpress Design Products this week. You don’t have to use them to join in but if you have some we would love to see them used.

Each week Simon Says Stamp generously gives away a $50 voucher to one randomly selected winner to use at the fabulous Simon Says Stamp store.

IMG_3371-copy
I had so much fun playing with watercolors and the Center Cut Burst stamp this week.  I heat embossed the background image using liquid platinum embossing powder on 140 lb. coldpress watercolor paper.   After I watercolored my background, I cut this lovely hugs sugar script die from Birchpress using silver and black glitter papers from Simon Says Stamp.
To finish it off, I added a few iridescent bubbles by Studio Katia.  They are so pretty and coordinated beautifully with the color of the card.  I popped it up on some white craft foam and attached it all to purple card stock.
IMG_3373-copy
When I started this, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to ink blend over this background stamp or watercolor so I made a couple backgrounds using watercolor paper and a couple using bristol.  These first two are made using watercolor paper.
Since I had the watercolors out and another heat embossed background, I decided to make another card using different colors.
IMG_3382-copy
I’m really happy with how this one turned out too.  I heat embossed this one with black embossing powder and then added my watercolors.
IMG_3377-copy
I am still madly in love with these dies that include a shadow die.  I used black card stock for the shadow and gold glitter card stock from Simon Says Stamp for the word Hugs.  The rest of the sentiment is from the You + Me stamp set by SSS, which has been discontinued, but is still available in the store at this moment.
IMG_3390-copy
For this one I decided to do some ink blending.  I used distress oxide inks in Peacock Feathers, Blueprint Sketch and Wilted Violet.  This time I cut the sentiment with white and black card stock and used a Spectrum Noir clear glitter pen to go over the black card stock and then topped it off with Glossy Accents.
IMG_3392-copy
The rest of the sentiment is from the Messages for Everyday stamp set from SSS.  I added foam squares to pop it up.  I added a few Iridescent Bubbles because these bubbles are absolutely gorgeous with purples and greens and blues.
IMG_3397-copy
I popped the entire card front up on some black craft foam.  Added that to a black card base and I was done.
And for the last card, I went in a different direction.
IMG_3416-copy
I made these alcohol inked sheets a few weeks ago and they’ve just been sitting on my desk so since the Hugs die was the main focus this week, I thought it would be fun to do a simple design.  I used Amethyst, Purple Twilight and Wild Plum alcohol inks with touches of gold foil.
I used the Stitched Scallop Basic Edges by MFT and popped the white part of the card up on craft foam.  I cut a 2″ x 4.25″ chunk of the alcohol inked sheet and attached it to the bottom of my card base.  I cut the shadow die with the same sheet and the Hugs using 110 lb. Neenah solar white card stock.
IMG_3421-copy
I went over the word Hugs with the Spectrum Noir clear glitter pen to add some sparkle and then topped it off with some Iridescent Bubbles.  Can you tell I’m a little obsessed with the iridescent bubbles right now??
IMG_3425-copy
So now it’s YOUR turn, Happy Crafting
Do you use Instagram ?  If so please add  #ssswchallenge to your challenge entry uploads so we can see them on there too.
You have until Wed  8am Ohio time. 1pm UK time, 2 pm CET to join in

Simon Says Cling Rubber Stamp CENTER…
[ SSS ]
Birch Press Design BIG HUGS SUGAR…
[ SSS ]
Arches COLD PRESSED WATERCOLOR PAD…
[ SSS ]
Ranger Embossing Powder LIQUID…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Cardstock SILVER…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Cardstock BLACK…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Cardstock ASSORTMENT…
[ SSS ]
Strathmore BRISTOL SMOOTH 9 x 12…
[ SSS ]
Studio Katia IRIDESCENT BUBBLES…
[ SSS ]
Ranger Embossing Powder SUPER FINE…
[ SSS ]
Little Things From Lucy’s Cards…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Cardstock GOLD…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp LARGE GRID PAPER…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100#…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Clear Stamps YOU + ME…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Ink Pad…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Ink Pad…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Oxide Ink Pad…
[ SSS ]
Crafter’s Companion CLEAR OVERLAY…
[ SSS ]
Ranger GLOSSY ACCENTS Glue…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Clear Stamps MESSAGES FOR…
[ SSS ]
Best Creation SMALL SQUARES 3-D Foam…
[ SSS ]
9 x 12 WHITE FUN FOAM 12 Pack 118711
[ SSS ]
My Favorite Things STITCHED SCALLOP…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz 8 X 10 WHITE ALCOHOL INK…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Alcohol Ink PURPLE TWILIGHT…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Alcohol Ink AMETHYST Ranger…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Alcohol Ink WILD PLUM…
[ SSS ]
Therm O Web BLING Zots Clear Adhesive…
[ SSS ]
Neenah Classic Crest 110 LB SMOOTH…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp EMBOSSING POWDER…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp EMBOSSING POWDER…
[ SSS ]
Ranger Embossing Powder SUPER FINE…
[ SSS ]
Therm O Web GOLD 25 FOOT ROLL Deco…
[ SSS ]

8 thoughts on “Simon Says Use a Die or a Punch

  1. Gorgeous cards Misty!! What a fantastic line up of stunning inspiration!! All of them are absolutely fabulous and I love how you used gold foil on your last one, it really makes the whole card look so luxurious! 🙂

    luv
    Lols x x x

    Like

  2. Oh wow you’ve been busy, what a gorgeous bunch of creations. I love the bold beautiful colours you have used with the pops of gold x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.