Cardmaking · Challenges · Design Team · Holiday Fun · Simon Says Stamp

Creative Expressions Polish Play

Hello crafty friends!! Please join me for a new challenge at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.  This week the challenge is

Christmas

We are showcasing Creative Expressions Products this week.  If you have any of these products, we’d love to see them used, but it’s certainly not a requirement to join the challenge. 

As always, the generous folks at Simon Says Stamp will be giving away a $50 voucher to one randomly selected winner to shop at the fabulous Simon Says Stamp Store.

This time of year is always so crazy and busy, so I’m really focusing on carving out time to spend with my family.  I found myself spending more time in my craft room than I was with the kiddos and hubs so I’ve made it a point to put it all away as soon as the kids get home from school everyday.  It seems like once I realize what I’m doing, I make a vow to myself to focus on what’s really important.  And for the next month or so, I’ll do just that.  But then I’ll slowly start spending more time in my cave and less time with my boys and before I know it, I’ll be right back in that same position, wondering how I ended up here again.  I’m making it a year long goal to not end up back in that same position anymore.  I only have 7 years left until he’s 18!!

It really hit me when I saw my sister post a picture of a Christmas tree in a house that she tagged “Ty’s Place”.  Tyler is my nephew and I had to sit there in awe for a moment and digest that this boy that I watched grow up before my eyes was now about to move out on his own.  I messaged my sister and said, “can it be so?  Is this really happening already?”  And she messaged me back and reminded me to spend as much time with my boys now because in the blink of an eye, it will all be over and they’ll be getting ready to move out on their own.

I thought about that for a moment.  While I do savor every moment with them, I also know that I spend a lot of time in my craft room and when the day comes for my boy to move out on his own, I don’t want to look back and wonder why I spent so much time on my cards and not enough time with my son.  I don’t want to regret anything.  

It happens slowly and sneakily.  There’s always a project to be made or a deadline to meet so I tell myself, “I’ll just work on this for one more hour and that’s it.”   Then the next thing I know, 2 hours have gone by.  Or three.  I’m surprised when I realize everyone is in bed.  Everyone but me.  

I thought about what peace means to me as I made these cards.  I kept thinking about that day in the not so distant future when my son prepares to move out and go off to college.  I want to feel at peace knowing that I soaked up every moment I could with him as he grows up, that I didn’t waste a moment being distracted by the unimportant.  Every day I wake up, more grateful than the day before.  Every day I remind myself of what’s truly important.  

Ok, ok.  Enough reflecting, it’s this time of the year, I swear…  Let’s talk about these fantastic products I used this week!!

How GORGEOUS is this glitter polish??  I am in love with it.  I used Golden Sand Glitter Kiss Polish by Creative Expressions and I wish I had more of it.  I only ordered one color because I wasn’t sure what to expect but as soon as I laid eyes on it, I wished that I had picked up at least one more color.

These were so easy to make.  I used this fabulous stencil by Simon Says Stamp called Square Dance.  I cut my front panel using the SSS Stitched Rectangle die (3.25″ x 4.5″).  The background is 4.25″ x 5.5″ and I used the largest Stitched Rectangle die from Lawn Fawn to give it a matching stitched border.  Once I had the polished piece done, all I had left to do was heat emboss the sentiment from the Stained Glass Greetings set with gold embossing powder.  

This went together so quickly that I decided to make another one in a different color.  This red one I used Simon Says Stamp Schoolhouse Red card stock.  The next one I used Soft Navy card stock.  Now I wish I would have made a few more in a few different colors.  I think a green one would look really good and also a purple.  I just might have to find the time to add to my little duo.  During school hours, of course.  😉

The pictures don’t do this gold glitter polish any justice.  It’s so beautiful in person, I wish I could have captured it in a photo.

The gold embossing powder keeps everything tied together.

To add a little dimension, I popped the card panel up on craft foam and popped the sentiment up on foam squares.  This card literally took me all of 15 minutes to make.  Scroll down to see my process video and if you stick around til the end, I would love to hear your suggestions to something extremely important to me.  

  So now it’s YOUR turn, Happy Crafting!!    

Follow Simon Says Stamp on Instagram

  Do you use Instagram ?  If so please add  #ssswchallenge to your challenge entry uploads so we can see them on there too.

      You have until Wed  8am Ohio time. 1pm UK time, 2 pm CET to join in

Simon Says Stencils SQUARE DANCE…
[ SSS ]
Cosmic Shimmer GOLDEN SAND Glitter…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamps And Dies STAINED…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100#…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100# SOFT…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp EMBOSSING POWDER…
[ SSS ]
Best Creation SMALL SQUARES 3-D Foam…
[ SSS ]
Best Creation BIG SQUARES 3-D Foam…
[ SSS ]
9 x 12 WHITE FUN FOAM 12 Pack 118711
[ SSS ]
EK Success CRAFT TWEEZERS Precision…
[ SSS ]
EK Success POWDER TOOL Applicator…
[ SSS ]
EK Success HONEY BEE Non-Stick…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp STITCHED RECTANGLES…
[ SSS ]
Lawn Fawn LARGE STITCHED RECTANGLE…
[ SSS ]
Ranger PALETTE KNIFE SET INK47407
[ SSS ]
FrogTape DELICATE SURFACE Masking Tape
[ SSS ]
Precision Heat Embossing Tool Gun…
[ SSS ]
Scor-Tape 1/4 Inch Crafting Tape
[ SSS ]
https://linkdeli.com/widget.js?1543923411530

12 thoughts on “Creative Expressions Polish Play

  1. I am there with you on that. I am trying to do just that and not just this time of the year but all year round hopefully. My daughter is turning 3 soon and time has just flown by! I love the bright colors on your cards so much! Sometimes, you just need the bright festive colors with a couple of sentiments and your cards meet the requirment so perfectly! I love the neatness in your work so so much! I am trying to spend time with my daughter so much these days that she and I have started crafting together. I make cards and she makes playdoh pastas for me to eat while I am trying to meet my deadlines. Lol! xx Ankita

    Like

  2. Such true words, Misty – the years fly by and before you know it, your kids will be living far away, so treasure EVERY minute! Love your elegant cards this week – will have to look into the glitter polish – even the name is elegant!

    Like

  3. p.s, I meant to say, you are so right, make time to spend with your son, the years fly by so make the most of them 😉 XXX
    and I can see the video on Safari, but not on Google Chrome, weird!

    Like

    1. Ok good. I started to panic. I wonder why it won’t show up on chrome… well thanks for letting me know. That polish is definitely a must have. I can’t wait to get a couple more colors. They have a gorgeous rose gold color that I must have.

      Like

  4. Gorgeous cards Misty 🙂 I absolutely LOVE the stencilled design and I am wondering how you made it so perfect!! no stray glitter anywhere!!
    I would like to watch the video to see how you made these but its not visible to me, I will have a look on safari and see if I can see it from there 😉

    Hope you have a lovely festive week!
    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.