Cardmaking · Challenges · Design Team · Handmade Greeting Cards · Simon Says Stamp

Anything Goes This Week!!

Hello crafty friends!! Please join me for a new challenge at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.  This week the challenge is

Anything Goes

We are showcasing Tim Holtz Products this week.  If you have any of these products, we’d love to see them used, but it’s certainly not a requirement to join the challenge.

As always, the generous folks at Simon Says Stamp will be giving away a $50 voucher to one randomly selected winner to shop at the fabulous Simon Says Stamp Store.  You can enter 5 times which means you can make 5 different projects following this week’s prompt and have 5 chances to win a shopping spree!! Sounds like a win/win to me!!

You will find a list of all the products that I used as well as my process video down below.

Welcome to another Anything Goes challenge!! I always love these challenges because the possibilities are endless. I decided to make a sympathy card this week.

I started out with a piece of Bristol Smooth card stock and Wild Honey and Squeezed Lemonade distress inks. I did a light layer of color and then added the Tim Holtz Rays Layering Stencil over the top and then added more of the same color distress inks. It gives it this really cool looking effect.

After I had the background done, I took another piece of Bristol Smooth card stock and heat embossed a couple of butterflies using Black Embossing Powder. The butterflies I used are from Tim Holtz and they’re called Butterfly 6 Rubber Stamp . I wasn’t quite sure what color I wanted my butterflies to be yet so I ink blended a couple different color combos. I settled on a blue butterfly and an orange-ish red one.

The blue butterfly is Blueprint Sketch, Salty Ocean and Tumbled Glass distress inks. The orange-ish red was done using Barn Door and Spiced Marmalade. I used this really cool tool to get dimension on my butterfly wings. The tool is actually used for baking, but I think it did the job perfectly! Check out my video below if you’d like to see how I did it.

I used a sentiment from the Bouquet of Thanks stamp set. I really like the font of the sentiments in this set. I heat embossed it in White Embossing Powder on Black Card Stock and then cut it down to size, giving a banner end to one side and gluing it down flush with the right side of the card. Then I added a couple Onyx Crystals from Studio Katia because it definitely needed an embellishment. To finish it off, I popped it up on some Black Craft Foam then used a clear Wink of Stella pen to go over both butterflies. I wanted just a little more shimmer so I took Sheer Shimmer Spritz in Sparkle and spritzed it into the air twice and “walked” my card through it like you do with perfume. I covered the sentiment while doing this because I didn’t want shimmer on the sentiment.

I hope you’ll check out my video below:

  So now it’s YOUR turn. Happy Crafting!!    

Follow Simon Says Stamp on Instagram

  Do you use Instagram ?  If so please add  #ssswchallenge to your challenge entry uploads so we can see them on there too.

   You have until Wed  8am Ohio time. 1pm UK time, 2 pm CET to join in

Strathmore BRISTOL SMOOTH 9 x 12…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad WILD HONEY…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Mini Ink Pad…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Layering Stencil RAYS THS003
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Embossing Ink Pad…
[ SSS ]
Ranger Embossing Powder SUPER FINE…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Rubber Stamp BUTTERFLY 6…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad BLUEPRINT…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad SALTY…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad TUMBLED…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad BARN DOOR…
[ SSS ]
Tim Holtz Distress Ink Pad SPICED…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Clear Stamps BOUQUET OF…
[ SSS ]
Ranger Embossing Powder SUPER FINE…
[ SSS ]
Simon Says Stamp Card Stock 100#…
[ SSS ]
Studio Katia ONYX Crystals SK2416
[ SSS ]
Ranger ADHESIVE FOAM BLACK IWT40507
[ SSS ]
ZIG Wink of Stella GLITTER CLEAR…
[ SSS ]
Tsukineko SPARKLE Sheer Shimmer…
[ SSS ]
https://linkdeli.com/widget.js?1552642647875

5 thoughts on “Anything Goes This Week!!

  1. Hi Misty! Thank you for the super sweet words of encouragement you left on my blog! Your sympathy card is beautiful-your colors are stunning! I was hoping to see a picture of your, as you mentioned him in the comment. Sadly, my greyhound, Bella, has gone on to doggie heaven. I have made a break from the sight hounds and now have the goofiest shepherd mix! Love him to death despite the fact that he has about a thousand time for energy than my whippets and greyhound put together and is a real stinker!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.